Marinara

It’s a hot debate in NY and probably everywhere.  Do you like your pizza thin-crusted or thick?  Cheese, pepperoni, mushrooms, canadian bacon, sausage, olives…

Regardless, 75% of pizzas have one thing is common.  Marinara sauce.  In my opinion, it’s what makes the pizza (or the pasta for that matter).  I like both thick and thin pizza because it’s the flavor that counts.  Here in San Antonio, try Goomba’s and you can skip your trip to New York.  Those guys will even feed your kids free dinner.  Love them!

But!  We are talking about marinara sauce here.  So c’mon, confess.  Which one do you buy?  Ragu?  Progresso?  Do you make your own?  Which canned tomatoes do you use?

I used to make my own all the time because well, being from NY and growing up on the good stuff, I just couldn’t bring myself to eat marinara with sugar – I mean high fructose corn syrup – in it.  Sugar is not for marinara.  It’s for the cannoli.

Then I found Rao’s and the delicious world of Italian food away from home was just a trip to HEB away!  Rao’s has something on the ingredient list I like:  all things I can read and pronounce and cook with myself if I choose.  But it’s more than that.  It just tastes awesome!  So, the next time you make your pizza or pasta at home, spend the extra $5 on a good-quality sauce and watch your family LOVE it.

4 Comments

Filed under Great Products, Soap Box/Rants

4 responses to “Marinara

  1. Michelle

    Ooo good tip! I’ve only tried making homemade pizza with one recipe, and we LOVE it. I got it from my friend on her recipe blog here. It’s a thick crust too. I tend to like those more. But then again, I guess I haven’t had a good thing crust? Thanks for the yummyness!

  2. I use to think the thick crust was the best, until I tried the GOOD thin crust, and now I’m ALL about thin crust. Also I came across this recipe for pizza, I put it on my blog ALONG time ago, anyway it’s supposively an authentic recipe, I’ve never been to Italy, so I can’t tell you for sure but it got me hooked. Anyhow, this recipe for the sauce just has you blend Italian plum tomatoes, but it tastes so good with the basil on the pizza! I love it and I think I’m going to have to make it tommorow now! I do however like to buy marinara for pasta, so I will definately try this brand out next time, thanks!

  3. Oh, how I love Pizza! It is my favorite. And for me it has to be thick crust. If I’m ordering it’s gotta be Papa Johns but I love to make my own too. So, I will try this sauce the next time.

  4. Betsy

    In my distant youth in CT there was only one thickness and we liked it. 🙂 I think I still like something mid-way between. Unfortunately my doc would like me to go gluten-free, so no pizza for me.

    Thanks for the recommendation on the sauce. The last jar I ate was Seeds of Change, and I loved it but don’t remember which variety it was. I just bought their marinara but haven’t tried it yet. If I don’t like it, I’ll try Rao’s next. I’ve seen it in HEB.

Leave a Reply

