You Threw Out the What? (Oatmeal Recipe)

Because you’ve all read my About Me page, you know that I’ve had to make a lot of changes in Emma’s diet.  One specifically was to cut out the sugar and decrease the grains.  So I threw out the cereal (it helped I had some pests in my kitchen infested in the cereals and flours).  If I had them in the house or she saw me eating them, I’d have to let her have some, so I decided to stop eating the stuff myself.  Now, it feels like a treat or a dessert when we do eat it.  I can honestly say it was one of the best choices I could have made for me and Emma.

Now each morning, even though it makes more dishes, I cook breakfast.  We eat eggs and oatmeal most mornings, and then if Emma is doing well I will make french toast, pancakes or waffles once or twice.  Because of this change, I’ve adapted a ton of recipes.  To start, this is what I do with oatmeal.

Oatmeal

We mostly eat soaked flours and grains now.  They are much more easily digested. And they taste better, especially in oatmeal, because the chewy texture is removed.

Serves 2

1 cup old-fashioned oats (rolled or cracked best)

1 cup filtered water

1 tbsp. homemade whey or plain yogurt

Mix the above ingredients in a bowl, cover and leave 12-24 hours or overnight.  This is easiest for me when I am making breakfast the day before.  I will think about tomorrow’s breakfast and start soaking it.

The next morning, bring 1 c. of filtered water to a boil.  When it’s boiling, add the oatmeal mixture.  Cover and reduce to lowest setting.  In 10 minutes, you have perfectly cooked oatmeal!

Don’t eat it like that, silly!  Add these to your liking:

Banana, Strawberry, Blueberry, Peach (fresh or frozen)

Milk, Cream, Butter

Chopped  and toasted pecans, walnuts, peanuts, etc.

Don’t forget the vanilla, cinnamon, and nutmeg!

Have a sweet tooth like me?  Try maple syrup or honey.

And when you’re feeling like something really decadent, try melted chocolate chips and a tablespoon of  honey peanut butter!

What’s your favorite oatmeal topping/flavor combination?

2 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Info Blurbs, Recipes

2 responses to “You Threw Out the What? (Oatmeal Recipe)

  1. Holly Gray

    Sounds good! I never thought oatmeal could be so exciting!! I will have to give it a try! 🙂

  2. Kristy Andreadakis

    Michelle—
    Wonderful source of information! U little smarty! I love it and will try some of these ideas for my family.
    Kristy

Leave a Reply

